india in picture books

Yesterday was the start of Diwali, so I went in search of some books set in India or by Indian authors to share at storytime and this is what I found.  I’ve become a big fan of Anushka Ravishankar’s books, mostly due to the detailed and colorful folk illustrations. The text although imaginative, is pretty flat (possibly something is lost through translation), but they are wonderous to look at.

One, Two, Tree

 

Excuse me, is this India?

 



What can you hide in, blow your nose on, make a hammock out of, and still look beautiful in? A Sari, as demonstrated by Sandhya Rao in My Mother’s Sari. And lastly, a Benjali trickster tale, The Ghost Catcher by Martha Hamilton. An altruistic barber encounters a couple of ghosts after his wife gives him an ultimatum.

2 thoughts on “india in picture books

  1. I also love My Dadima Wears A Sari: http://tinyurl.com/2uoo5s4 which is about a grandmother and her granddaughter

    I Is For India is non-fiction, but it’s a great photographic alphabet book.
    http://tinyurl.com/2vk8s9j

    And though the names turned “Little Black Sambo” into a controversial book in this country, it’s really about East Indians (and was a childhood favorite of mine that my politically correct before it was fashionable mother had no problem with). Fred Marcellino changed the names and turned it into “The Story of Little Babaji” and it’s delightful. http://tinyurl.com/39qelln

    Like

  2. The Story of Little Babaji is one of my favorite stories to tell. Kids love it when the tigers melt, and can’t belive how many pancakes Little Babaji eats. So glad that tale was rescued.

    Thanks, I will have to check out your other two suggestions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

